The Bronx RHIO has a transparent, participatory governance structure based on broad, inclusive participation of multiple stakeholders on its Board of Directors. A key strength of the Bronx RHIO is its actively engaged Board of Directors, representing the highest levels of leadership from our member organizations.

The provider community is strongly represented in the Bronx RHIO’s governance. Through membership on the Board and participation in the Clinical Committee and other Committees, clinicians have the opportunity to participate in decision-making and guide safety and quality improvements. Consumers also have voice in governance through an At-Large Director position on the Board.

Bronx RHIO Board of Directors (alpha by organization)

Maria Castaneda (Consumer Representative)
1199 Service Employees International Union (SEIU)

Ivan Durbak
Chief Information Officer
BronxCare Health System

Carmela Carino
Director of Finance and Deputy Corporate Compliance Officer
Calvary Hospital

Sumir Sahgal, MD
Founder and Chief Medical Officer
Essen Health Care

Elizabeth Lever
Chief Information Officer
The Institute for Family Health

Rachel Sherman, MD
Primary Care Physician and Clinical Informatician
James J. Peters VA Medical Center

Stephen Rosenthal
Senior Vice President – Population Health Management
President & CEO – CMO, Montefiore Care Management
Montefiore Health System

Lois J. Bookhardt-Murray, MD
Chief Medical Officer
Morris Heights Health Center

Regina Zimmerman, PhD, MPH
Senior Director, Data Governance and Informatics, Bureau of Epi Services
NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Epidemiology

Jitendra Barmecha, MD, MPH, SFHM, FACP
Chief Information Officer
SVP – IT & Clinical Engineering
SBH Health System

Paloma Hernandez
President and CEO
Urban Health Plan

Board Officers

Jitendra Barmecha, MD     Chair
Paloma Hernandez            Vice Chair
Ivan Durbak                      Secretary
Carmela Carino                 Treasurer

Bronx RHIO Committees and Chairs

Clinical Committee
Lois J. Bookhardt-Murray, MD, Chair
Morris Heights Health Center

Executive Committee
Jitendra Barmecha, MD, Chair
SBH Health System

Finance & Audit Committee
Carmela Carino, Chair
Calvary Hospital

Health Information Management (HIM) Committee
JoAnn Ferrara, MBA, RHIT, CHP, Chair
BronxCare Health System

Information Security Committee
Vacant Chair

Patients Rights and Members Responsibilities Committee
Maria Casteneda, Chair
1199 Service Employees International Union (SEIU)

Research and Quality Improvement Committee
Rachel Sherman, MD, Chair
James J. Peters VA Medical Center

Technical/Steering Committee
Ivan Durbak, Chair
BronxCare Health System

Bronx RHIO 2024 Board & Committee Meeting Schedule
Board Minutes

Scroll to Top